Flippa.com Website Sales Reviewed

In this video, David Gass reviews a few websites that recently sold at auction on Flippa.com
He asks the questions:

Did the buyer get a good deal?

Was the seller trying to hide something from the buyer?

And he’ll reveal three questions any website buyer should ask before doing much due diligence on a website.

 Websites Sold on Flippa.com Reviewed

About David Gass

David Gass is a serial entrepreneur, author and sought after speaker for his expertise in buying and selling websites, business financing and entrepreneurship. David has several programs available for teaching others to make money buying, selling and flipping websites. Find him on Google

8 Responses to Flippa.com Website Sales Reviewed

  1. Jerry Hogg September 18, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    Good useful,practical advice.

    It would be good to know what those bidders actually saw in those web sites.

    Thanks
    David

    • admin September 18, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

      Yes, I agree. The only thing I can think is that there was traffic coming from somewhere the seller was able to prove. Also, if you have a related product or service that could target the visitors on these sites than it may be worth buying a site with no or little revenue right now.

  2. Willie Rounds September 18, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

    Hi David, your videos are fantastic, I am trying to learn all i can so when i decide to buy or sell a website i will be less likely to get scam!

    • admin September 18, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

      Thanks – keep looking at the video trainings and asking questions in the forum and we’ll be sure to get you up to speed so you can buy your first site soon.

  3. mike September 19, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    obviously with a site like rofls.com most of the traffic is non-organic, I would imagine that most of the traffic is from stumbleupon and facebook (ie. social media) thus what you say about that site not getting the traffic it claims is really misguided as you say ‘I would be highly suspicious’.

    Not all traffic is organic!

    • admin September 19, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

      Completely agreed that all traffic is not organic. However, even traffic coming from social media, bookmarking sites and other web2.0 sites would show up as traffic in the sites I looked at like SEMRush and Compete. According to the search engines, social media and bookmarking sites should be organic as well. I understand most web owners will focus on those to help the organic nature of it, but it is suppose to be organic too.

  4. mike September 20, 2012 at 11:15 am #

    you say:

    ”…even traffic coming from social media, bookmarking sites and other web2.0 sites would show up as traffic in the sites I looked at like SEMRush and Compete…”

    um, no it wont. not in Semrush.

    Semrush.com shows you traffic from the SEARCH ENGINES and the keywords bringing the traffic….again a site like rofls.com is not going to have much (if any) of this traffic from organic searches and hence no keywords in semrush.com. why? Rofls.com is not a content rich site, there are no articles, its mainly images.

    So to use semrush to do due diligence research for a website like this is more or less *useless*, as it will show little results. There is no real way of checking social media traffic like how many stumbles an article gets or how much traffic from facebook.

    • admin September 20, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

      Looking at it further, your right. Thanks for clarifying that. SEMRush does have a section for Facebook,but it’s for their ads, not organic.

      There are other tools I didn’t use in this video that will show traffic from social sites, obviously the best is to use the sites google analytics. We tend to stick with a 3rd party analytics tool for our own sites “getclicky.com”

      But a site like socialmention provides some good insight on social media here is a link to this sites link http://www.socialmention.com/search?q=rofls.com&t=all&btnG=Search

Leave a Reply