To reveal or not to reveal?
  • Is it ok for a seller to reveal his keywords that bring in traffic to the public when selling a site on flippa? I think its absurd, but I may be wrong?

Thanks,
    Fruit
    Post edited by Unknown User at 2010-05-19 14:29:10
  • [quote="Fruit"]
    Is it ok for a seller to reveal his keywords that bring in traffic to the public when selling a site on flippa? I think its absurd, but I may be wrong?

Thanks,
    Fruit

Why would you do that? If the keywords work then they are valuable and should only be given to the buyer of the website and not to the general public. BTW, I'm still a newbie so take my words with a grain of salt. I've been reading the posts on this forum and learning so much! Can't wait to flip my first site using the advice I receive here (and from the KFS ebook).
  • Yea the ebook is great. The reason I asked is because I've been seeing people ask on flippa for keywords to "determine" rankings and to validate traffic. However, like I previously stated, I would never give up keywords unless it was already sold (strictly to the buyer).

Fruit
  • I would never give them out unless necessary. Obviously the Flippa standard of using Google Analytics makes this process a little harder - but the other side of the coin would be that if you are selling a site, the keywords are no longer going to be in your control, so shouldn't be a concern.
  • What would you consider necessary?

Fruit
  • [quote="Fruit"]
    What would you consider necessary?

Fruit

Generally it would be VERY rare for me to give out this information. Some necessary times may be when a buyer has conducted due diligence and finds discrepancies in your stats or doubts your figures, for example. If in doubt, just ask them to sign an NDA beforehand.
  • Hey all,
    Just a curious question, aren't the keywords being used quite obvious when you study the sites being sold?
    Or do you hide them when it is time to sell?
    Cheers,
    Patrik