• Hello! I am new to site flipping, and in all honesty, new to building websites.

My question - is there a resource that takes me through the 'technical' side of transferring a website (domain, and files) to the buyer? I have NOOO clue how to do this, and I want to learn before I put up an auction and then look like someone who doesnt know what they are doing when (if) I make a sale.

Thanks in advance!
    Post edited by Unknown User at 2010-06-01 10:29:39
  • http://flippingnetwork.com/forum/showth ... t=transfer

Try using the search function next time ;).

Trinity
  • Hi JasonG,
    It's on Flippa:
    http://flippa.com/help/transfer-a-wordpress-site
    I think I also saw it referenced on the forum but can't remeber where now.

Cheers!
  • I would also like to mention there are various ways of transferring a site. The easiest being just to keep them on your host, or letting them have access after payment (to your cpanel).

Trinity
  • I am not positive, but, if they have access to my cpanel, can't they see all my other sites? :-\ i don't know - like I said, I am reallly remedial when it comes to the technical aspects of websites and stuff.

I have hostgator hosting and in my cpanel it shows all my add-on domains and all the info for them - could I be harmed at all by allowing them access to my cpanel?
  • Jason probably the easiest thing to do is upgrade to a reseller package.

When you buy websites to flip or even if you are creating a website and you know you want to flip it in the future, create a separate cpanel account for each website.

When you sell the website offer them 1 month free hosting and just give them the log in to that cpanel account. They have 1 month to transfer the site to their host or you can charge them monthly afterwards.

I wouldnt give anyone access to my cpanel.. but thats just me.