Checklists, pre-defined decision-points etc.
  • Hey guys,

Just thought I'd ask around how many people here (besides me) uses things like checklists, pre-defined decision points, templates and virtually anything similar that has the purpose to make the flipping business more organized?

I'm an airplane pilot myself and must say that I absolutely love things being well organized (I guess you can't find an area that is organized better than aviation) - therefore I tend to use similar tactics in business as well.

For instance, I have a detailed checklist for pretty much anything (a main buy-develop-sell checklist for quick flips, several for SEO, another one for ebook launches etc.), I keep excel spreadsheets about virtually everything, allowing me to go back even a year to fully analyse past projects, I use A LOT of templates, e.g. when replying to PMs at Flippa, when doing customer support, when instructing buyers on the transfer etc. etc. - all to make my life easier and to be able to spend more time thinking, developing my business and finding new opportunities and less time on 'management'.

Just curious how other successful people in this business go about it ..

EDIT: Forgot to mention .. when it comes to templates, I have a simple rule: If I need to write the same thing (be it an email, a PM or some sort of a product description) more than 2 times and the changes are only slight, I'll create a template for it. So far this system has served me exceptionally well.
    Post edited by Unknown User at 2010-05-01 15:54:25
  • You're an airplane pilot?!? AWESOME!